Staying Healthy During your Mid-Life Crisis!

Right let’s face it – blokes are predictably stupid. And the most classic way of demonstrating this is the mid-life crisis.
When I was in my 20s and 30s I looked upon these men going through it as tragic, almost comical, but definitely pathetic characters and felt nothing but contempt whilst smugly saying to myself – ‘that will never be me’. But guess what, 10 years later on in my mid 40s here I am feeling like acting out every cliché in the book.
So what have I let myself indulge in – have I got a convertible (yes), am I going down the gym (yes), am I shaving hair that is growing out of bits of me, I don’t want to grow (yes), Am I panicking that my opportunity to be the Lothario I always dreamed of being is about to pass me by forever (most definitely)
So what am I doing to make sure that I keep myself, my family, and most importantly my sanity intact?
Well here are my top 10 tips:

  1. Flirt – as my dad said – you can read the menu as often as you like as long as you never order. Get it out of your system with no consequence.
  2. Fall in love with your partner again – they are amazing and we often forget what made you love them in the first place. Take a step back and look at all the great in them and re-set everything that has become annoying
  3. Do something – whether it is making a move in work or taking up a hobby outside of work. Get yourself involved in something you love and are passionate about
  4. Indulge once a year with your partner – find time to at least once a year go and indulge in each other
  5. Indulge once a year with your mates – long gone are the stag does and boys weekends away – bring them back
  6. Talk to your mates – guess what they all feel the same and a problem shared……Love this time – you are probably the most comfortable you’ll ever be in your own skin. Enjoy it
  7. Travel – experience the world and put your own life into perspective
  8. Have do nothing time – turn your phone off, pick up a book, go for a walk, sit on the beach, enjoy the now
  9. Let it go – if we are all feeling it, it no longer matters. Enjoy the fact you are feeling like this, it means you are maturing nicely ☺
Leave a Reply

